Leave feedback
  • Question

Problems formatting fields in a table in Storyteller

Enter a new topic
  • Liz Atkins Liz Atkins
    0 likes 1019 views

Hi,

I’m new to Storyteller and I’m having problems formatting some fields on a page.

I’ve created a story and within that story I’m displaying customer details and their orders. The customer details part is fine, I’ve created a table for the orders and my problem is that I need to display a description for each order rather than the code which is passed to Storyteller in the XML.

I have tried a couple of ways of dealing with this, but with no success.

One attempt was to use an existing message (XMLIN to XMLOUT) to decode the order code, but the problem is that this message is at document level (a document being a customer block and a repeating order block). This means that when I write the order description to the variable attached to the XML, it’s only written to the XMLOUT once per document. Are there any message traversing functions which allow me to update the XML variable / element as I need? Or is there any other scripting method I can use?

Another attempt was to use the scripting within Storyteller to do the job. This also failed. I have tried setting the order code as a variable within the XMLIN but as orders are at a lower level than the document, this variable is not displayed for use within Storyteller if I use the modification on the order code field. Do I need to use Xpath to handle this? If so, how? I understood that there is no IF statement within Xpath so I’m at a loss as to how I can use it for this task.

Any help anyone can offer would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Liz

Monday 23 December, 2013
  • Best Answer
    David Bares David Bares OpenText Employee Administrator StreamServe Employee
    0 likes

Following XPath:
    /data/message/Block_PRODUCT_LEVEL_1/PRODUCT_TYPE_L1